Vaccine-Derived Polio — Australia

cVDPV2 — circulating vaccine-derived poliovirus type 2

Reported by WA Health · NaTHNaCSource updated 5 months ago(1 May 2026)View source ↗
The most recent official update we hold is from 1 May 2026 (5 months ago). These figures may not reflect the current situation — check the source for later information.
REPORTED CASES
Not reported
REPORTED DEATHS
Not reported
FIGURES AS OF
1 May 2026 (source date)
HUMAN-TO-HUMAN TRANSMISSION
Not established
WHERE
Perth, Western Australia (wastewater), Southern Province, Malawi (wastewater)
STATUS
monitoring
REPORTED BY
WA Health · NaTHNaC ↗
SOURCE UPDATED
Source updated 5 months ago

WHAT IS HAPPENING · SUMMARY OF WA HEALTH · NATHNAC

cVDPV2 in Perth wastewater (19 Feb sample). No human cases. WA Health investigation ongoing.

FOR THE GENERAL PUBLIC

The source has not published a general-public risk statement that ContagionMap holds. Follow your national public-health authority for advice where you live.

FOR TRAVELLERS

Ensure IPV up to date. No travel restrictions.

WHAT IS KNOWN

  • Locations reporting cases or under monitoring: Perth, Western Australia (wastewater), Southern Province, Malawi (wastewater).

WHAT IS UNCERTAIN

  • There has been no official update since 1 May 2026 (5 months ago); the current situation may differ.
  • The source does not state whether person-to-person transmission has occurred.
  • No case count has been reported.

CONTAGIONMAP ANALYSIS

Significance: Low. This is ContagionMap's rating of how severe the outbreak is where cases are occurring, based on the figures above and the pathogen. It is not an official WHO or government classification and is not a measure of risk to people elsewhere.

LOCATIONS (2)

LocationCasesDeathsNote
Perth, Western Australia (wastewater)——Environmental detection only. No human cases.
Southern Province, Malawi (wastewater)——Environmental sample from 19 Feb 2026.

REPORTED FIGURES OVER TIME

OFFICIALLY REPORTED FIGURES
Vaccine-Derived Polio — Australia
Cumulative reported cases

Figures are as reported by the named source on the date shown. Summaries and the significance rating are ContagionMap's. This record last changed on ContagionMap 12 May 2026. Not medical advice.